TIMELINE OF OCCUPATIONAL MEDICINE

o **1921**

Appointment of Dr DG Robertson to form Commonwealth Department of Health's Division of Industrial Medicine [ceased 1932] – divisions formed in each state

0 1922

Nationwide conference recommends all employees up to the age of 18 have medical examination; minimum worker age is 14; occupational diseases notified; factory inspectors employed

0 1925

There are only 8 full time industrial medical officers in Australia (4 employed by the Railways)

Unresolved conflicts between Commonwealth and States leads to a Royal Commission which recommends the formation of a Federal body

1926 The Federal Health Council – later becomes the National Health & Medical Research Council and Occupational health transferred to School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine

During WW II Department of Labour and National Service established an Industrial Welfare Division to oversee safety concerns of industry associated with war efforts

o 1938

Inauguration of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians

o **1942**

Occupational Health Committee of the NHMRC forms (disbanded 1985 when role taken over by Worksafe Australia) Committee comprised of Directors (Occupational Physicians) of each State Division of Occupational Health

o 1949

Occupational Health Section formed at School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine at University of Sydney

o **1950**

Dr Donald Hunter, Physician Director of the Department of Research in Industrial Medicine and Curator of the Museum, London, visited Australia as the William McIlrath Guest Professor for Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Sydney. He made recommendations for management of industrial diseases at a Commonwealth level. He recommended a committee should consider the problems related to occupational diseases and provided points for consideration. The RACP appointed a subcommittee to carry out this investigation

o May 1952

NSW branch of the British Medical Association (prior to AMA) forms a Section of Occupational Disease, Victoria follows

0 1955

The Committee set up by the RACP into the investigation of Occupational Health in Australia delivers its report. The Council of the RACP accepted the recommendations — a committee is formed with the terms of reference:

To consider the subject of Occupational Health in Australia, including its place in medical practice and its teaching, investigational and legislative aspects, and to make recommendations for its development.

Chairman: Dr SA Smith

MJA 27th October 1956

o 25th October 1968

32 members meet and resolve to form an Australian society of Occupational Medicine

o **1969**

Inauguration of the Australian Society of Occupational Medicine ASOM

0 1972

New Zealand added to Society ANZSOM

0 1976

Inauguration of Australian College of Occupational Health Nurses ACOHN

First Chair of Occupational Health in Australia – established at University of Sydney – Professor David Ferguson MBBS Syd 1942, MD 1971, MRACP 1955, FFOM (RCP) 1982

o **1982**

Australian (later Australasian) College of Occupational Medicine ACOM incorporated on 10th June 1982

Inauguration at first Convocation held on 29th March 1984 President: Dr DB Douglas

o **1987**

Occupational Medicine is recognised as a Specialty by National Specialist Qualification Advisory Committee

o 1993

The Australasian College of Occupational Medicine moves to become a Faculty within the RACP – 363 members AFOM – officially joins with RACP in 1994

"1991-92 will be remembered as the year the College felt the winds of change and responded quickly and vigorously. That we were able to do so is testimony to the active enthusiasm of our membership" – President ACOM 1992

 2007 Environment is incorporated into the name of the Faculty AFOEM

O 2008

ACOHN amalgamates with the Australian and New Zealand Society of Occupational Medicine

o 2018 1968-2018

ANZSOM celebrates 50 years